

SILHOUETTE

Beyond the Seventh Wave



BIO

In 2013 and 2014, Silhouette has undertaken its most ambitious project so far when the band recorded its fourth album "Beyond the Seventh Wave". It's a more than 60 minute concept album, about the hunger for freedom of an innocent man convicted for life. The concept is inspired by stories and books such as Henri Charierre's "Papillion", which was also released on film in 1973. The music and lyrics however have several layers and contain autobiographical elements brought in by Silhouette's composers Brian de Graeve (vocals and guitar) and Erik Laan (vocals and keyboards).

"Beyond the Seventh Wave" is a new step in the development of Silhouette. This time, the band invited classical, acoustic instrumentalists to enrich the arrangements: cellist Ruben van Kruistum (Adeia), violinist Laura ten Voorde (Adeia); clarinetist Tamara van Koetsveld (Dutch Royal Airforce Orchestra), and flutist MaryO, who also contributed backing vocals.

During the process of writing and recording the album, the line-up has changed significantly. Silhouette recruited excellent new musicians, including Daniel van der Weijde (Guitars) and Rob van Nieuwenhuijzen (drums, known from progmetal band Incidense). Jurjen Bergsma has replaced Gerrit-Jan Bloemink on bass guitar and also recorded several tracks on the album.

Silhouette asked Ton Scherpenzeel (Camel and Kayak) as a guest musician to play an analogue Minimoog keyboard solo on Devil's Island. Antonio Seijías (known for his artwork for Marillion) designed the artwork.

The result is a consistent and solid progressive rock album on which Silhouette sounds heavier, tighter, but also more emotional and lyrical than before. Yet, Silhouette maintains its recognizable sound in which melodies stand at the core of every song.

LINE-UP Band: Silhouette

Erik Laan: lead- and backing vocals, keyboards, bass pedals, additional bass Brian de Graeve: lead- and backing vocals, 12 string acoustic guitar Gerrit-Jan Bloemink: bass guitar Daniel van der Weijde: acoustic and electric guitar Rob van Nieuwenhuijzen: drums and percussion Jurien Bergsma: additional bass guitar

guest musicians:

Laura ten Voorde (violin), Tamara van Koetsveld (Clarinet), Ruben van Kruistum (cello), Ton Scherpenzeel (Moog synthesizer), MaryO (flute, backing vocals)

Tracklisting

1. Prologue, 2. Betrayed, 3. Web of Lies part I - The Vow, 4. Web of Lies part II - The Plot, 5. In Solitary, 6. Escape, 7. Lost Paradise, 8. Betrayed Again, 9. Devil's Island, 10. Beyond the Seventh Wave, 11. Wings to Fly.

Album Title: **Beyond the Seventh Wave**Label: FREIA Music
Street Date: 24 November 2014
Genre: Progressive rock
Web: www.silhouetteband.nl
www.beyondtheseventhwave.com